View Single Post
June 10th, 2011, 07:12 PM
I am new to this message board so I hope I post this correctly.

I am currently 43 years old and 9w2d pregnant. This past week+ has been a roller coaster and I wasn't sure what was happening until I did a Google search and found this thread. Many of the women's stories sound like my own. I thought I'd share.

Last week Tuesday I was 7w6d when I noticed some pink spotting. I didn't think too much of it since my husband and I had had sex the night before and I would spot just a little pink/red with my son's pregnancy (around this same time gestationally). Throughout the day the bleeding increased and by night it had changed to red blood but not a ton, mostly spotting (only a pantiliner necessary).

On Wednesday I had horrible cramps on and off most of the day. I figured I was miscarrying since a girlfriend of mine who had miscarried in the past told me her symptoms and mine were the same. Wednesday night it was difficult to sleep because of the cramps but I refused to take any pain reliever in case the baby held on. On Thursday, more bleeding all day and I switched to a light pad both Wednesday and Thursday.

I already had my first OB appointment scheduled for Friday so when I went in for it, I mentioned I'd been bleeding and asked for an ultrasound first. We'd had an ultrasound around 6.5weeks and saw the heartbeat so I knew all was well at one point. I was completely prepared to see no heartbeat but there it was -- very healthy!