View Single Post
May 26th, 2012, 07:54 PM
is loving her two boys!
My name is Krissandra, mom to Lucas (born 11/3/11) and Caleb (4/30/10). I am completely new to allergies, as my older son has never had any, and neither has my husband (except spring allergies) nor myself.

I am currently tandem nursing my two boys, and my youngest Lucas has had horrible eczema since he was just a few weeks old. He's also always been a very fussy baby, very gassy, waking often through the night, and has always scratched himself all over after developing random rashes. I thought it was just eczema, until I learned that eczema can be food allergy related.

Well, about two weeks ago, Lucas broke out in hives just minutes after milk from my cereal bowl splashed onto his walker tray when my toddler bumped into me. The most he could have done was rub his hands in it before I got it all wiped up. After I wiped it up, I noticed his eyes were red and puffy, and a rash had spread all the way down his cheeks. Then he started itching himself relentlessly, so I took him outside and saw in the daylight that he had big welts popping up all over his jaw and neck.

After growing up with a younger sibling who has ideopathic anaphylaxis, I was panicking because I didn't know if he was about to swell up and stop breathing - and the nearest hospital is 20 minutes away. Thankfully, his breathing seemed fine. Well, after a crazy ordeal of rushing to get Benedryl and flying to his pediatrician's office, his doctor tried to talk the situation down and brush the hives off as "not serious," and that kids "get them all the time," which I thought was absolutely ridiculous since the next allergic episode could be worse. After insisting that I find out what it was that caused them, we got referred to an allergist, whom we just saw day before yesterday.