View Single Post
March 15th, 2013, 03:09 PM
Learning to walk in faith
I'm not really sure what else you can offer if both he and the boy's mother refuse to believe the behavior is more than normal "rough housing". I have 3 stepsons ranging from 13 to nearly 4. Yes, they rough house. My oldest stepson, however, has also been diagnosed with ADHD, ODD and mood disorder NOS and has struggled with violence and impulse control since he was tiny. It's *very* different than when the other two boys shove each other around or wrestle with each other. He's been on various combinations of medication since he was 5 years old, and the most recent one has helped the most (and he still has trouble with violent thoughts and threats).

I would assume it's easier for your bf to convince himself it's normal while his son is so young. It's easier to intervene when the violent person is 7 years old. I'm not suggesting his son has the same level of issues that my oldest dss does (because I'm not a professional and I've never met this child), but there is a large difference in what's normal rough play and what's indicative of something bigger. How would your bf respond to the idea of even an evaluation? If there is nothing unusual, then the evaluation will prove your bf right. If there is, it might help to hear it from a third (trained) party.

It wouldn't mean he's a bad parent, or that his son is a bad child. On the contrary, these things are usually bigger than any particular parenting choices and understanding them better simply helps everyone in the family know the best way to approach things.