View Single Post
July 13th, 2013, 08:03 AM
Mega Super Mommy
Honestly, you might be surprised at all the opportunity now.. For me, I have a bachelors degree and couldn't afford my masters yet.. The job market is horrible so since I had no non-retail experience, I got a seasonal job at best buy. I found out I was pregnant after an incident that happened once so I don't have support from the baby's other genetic half. So, December 4th (when I found out) I spent the whole day crying feeling doomed to retail struggling to give this child a good life. Well, I did what I had to do.. Got state pregnancy medical, got prenatal care and started baby shopping.

About half way through my pregnancy I struggled with dehydration and low blood pressure so I was getting dizzy at work and still expected to run around like crazy, climb ladders, and go the whole shift usually not even allowed to have the state mandated breaks. At that point I put in my notice and left at about 25weeks pregnant and I had already bought the baby necessities. I was so stressed out but things actually turned around with leaving. I sucked up my pride and asked the state for food and cash benefits. They ended up giving me $200/month food and $300/month cash.. It's not enough to really live but definitely can get by. They also have housing programs as needed. Well, with the cash program, (at least here) they'll insist you try to look for work or do some job training or school but you're exempt third trimester and baby's first year. For me, there is no way I can think of not getting right back on my feet.