JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Baby Names (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f81-baby-names/)
-   -   Love this name, but do I need to change spelling? (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f81-baby-names/2705310-love-name-but-do-i-need-to-change-spelling.html)

Valerie123 January 26th, 2014 06:13 PM

Love this name, but do I need to change spelling?

I was a foreign exchange student and my roomate was Cambodian. Her name was Srey (pronounced sir-RAY with the "sir" being a very soft sound).

Here's audio:
How to Pronounce Srey - PronounceNames.com - YouTube

At 17, I was sure I'd use the name if I ever had a girl. My roomate thought that was a great idea- as the name meant "girl" and apparently is quite popular (and she loved her name- its just so pretty!)

Well, my husband isn't sold on it. Our rules for naming are no more than 3 syllables, easy to spell, not on any top 100 lists, and: when someone reads it they intuitively can pronounce it.

It is the last rule he says this name is breaking. So the question is: did you get the right pronounciation? If not- any suggestions for a spelling change?

I've thought of "Serey" as "e" before "r" is traditionally pretty soft.
Sirey I think looks like Sir-ee

Ugh! Good thing is I still have 8 months to convince DH I'm right, lol. His top picks aren't bad, though: Joan or Annabel. I love both of those, too. Truth is, I love most girl names :p

ashj_1218 January 26th, 2014 06:40 PM

Re: Love this name, but do I need to change spelling?

I got it right away. And I'm not one to know how to pronounce things. I think with there being no vowel, it makes it likely to be said correctly, since the S is diminutive when it's followed by a recognizable sequence (if you followed that AT all!). It's pretty, very unique.

amberbanegas January 26th, 2014 07:16 PM