JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Blended Families (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/)
-   -   Eek, I'm new to this! (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/2334993-eek-im-new-to.html)

mcfly May 24th, 2011 12:50 PM

Eek, I'm new to this!

Hi everyone! :D Hope y'all don't mind if I jump in with a question? I think I'm going to be spending quite a bit of time on this forum pretty soon haha.

So, a short backstory. My fella has a 10 year old son from a previous marriage, he is on great terms with his son's mom (and so am I, which is awesome), and we get him every second weekend. (I've only been part of this for a short time, as we only recently moved in together.) He's such a great kid and I absolutely adore him, and he seems to really like me too, which is an awesome start. Buuuut of course there are problems.

The big things for me:

-I don't know when it's appropriate to discipline him, if it is at all. Little things like if he asks for ice cream for breakfast I will say, "nope, your options are cereal or eggs with toast" or something and Paul has encouraged me to do so and he backs me up on it. But other stuff, I don't know where my place is. There have been a couple of small incidents (for example, he plays too rough with my pet rabbit sometimes - it's accidental, he is not trying to be cruel) and I've told him to please be more gentle or the rabbit will have to go back in his cage. He listens well, apologizes, and obeys immediately, so I'm fine with leaving it at that, but Paul will sometimes snap at him and angrily tell him that he'd better listen to me. I appreciate the backup, but I really don't feel like it's necessary in this sort of situation.