JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Blended Families (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/)
-   -   New to this-Questions! (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/2362498-new-to-questions.html)

jlanders78 June 30th, 2011 01:44 PM

New to this-Questions!

Hi! I'm new to this but am a newly blended family. My bf & I have been together for 4 yrs and have a 1yr. son. And he has 2 kids (16yrg/13yrb) who have lived out of state and only been down during summers to visit until now. They're moving down here to live. His daughter is helpful and follows rules, etc. but the 13 yr. old ran the house at his moms. In the past I let their dad handle disciplining but I think some guidelines & rules need to be established & respected. But I don't want to overstep any boundaries either. Any suggestions on setting expectations & talking to his kids about these together? Please n Thanks!

AMiner86 June 30th, 2011 02:11 PM

Re: New to this-Questions!

Before talking to the kids, you need to talk to your BF about what rules you want established in the house since his kids are going to be spending a lot more time there. The two of you need to be on the same page and decide together what is reasonable expectations regarding rules and guidelines. If you two work together as a team, disciple will go a lot more smoothly than if the two of you are divided or unsure of the rules.

Good luck! :)

Doodlebug06 June 30th, 2011 04:54 PM

Ditto that above. That's the issue dh and I have.
He never had rules for his kids. And still doesn't care about giving them rules. I do.