JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Blended Families (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/)
-   -   When bringing a half sibling into the house... (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f65-blended-families/84167-when-bringing-half-sibling-into-house.html)

SHoward October 5th, 2005 08:56 AM

I'm pregnant right now and due in a little over a month. My DH has three kids who I've been raising for over 6 years now. They have been talking for years about wanting another baby in the house, but now they don't want it. The two oldest (boys) are disappointed because I'm supposed to be having a girl. The youngest (girl) is upset because she will have to share "her" room with the baby. Are all kids like this, even when the baby has the same mom and dad? I'm just curious because it upsets me sometimes when people ask them about the baby and they sound very disappointed. (my emotions aren't exactly stable right now anyway)

Sorry for dragging this out so long, but I just wanted opinions of other women with blended families. :smile:

mrobinson October 5th, 2005 11:00 AM

Umm, my feminist senses are tingling.. I leave that idea and opinion for other day.

Sorry I don't have much advice... have you read the section in "Family First" by Dr. Phil about blended families? Unfortunately it's a small section but maybe it can help? I don't have kids yet nor I'm I raising another's child. My perspective is from a step-child and half sibling. My step-mom got pregnant and I was extremely excited. But I didn't have to share my room and she had a boy with my dad.

:dothug: :dothug: I wish I could offer more!

c_robinson19 October 5th, 2005 02:54 PM