JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Christian Parenting (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f44-christian-parenting/)
-   -   Investing time (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f44-christian-parenting/2559178-investing-time.html)

Countrymom4 August 8th, 2012 09:17 PM

Investing time

People invest time and energy into developing their career, their bodies and relationships, but often neglect the spiritual dimension of their lives. How do you actively pursue spiritual growth?

Babymakes8 August 9th, 2012 06:21 AM

Re: Investing time

I'm just beginning to actively pursue spiritual growth, not just for myself but for my family, too. We've put God on the back burner too long.

I started last night, by reading a chapter from the Bible to my children as their bed time story. We started in Genesis, and tonight we'll be reading Genesis Chapter 2.

Part of this is also an attempt on my part to read the Bible from cover to cover.

CalledBlessed August 9th, 2012 09:21 AM

Long time ago I was stressed because I wanted to know everything in the bible and it seemed so big...at that time I had started in the NT and read jude backwards then try to read the gospels...But you are right the best of all place to start is Genesis.There are some many great things to learn there.What I love about God is he made the bible that you have to keep read it over and over again and he gives you new messages every time:)

For myself I'm in 2kings right now...I try to read as much as I can daily and pray.I try to write things down.Things I'm afraid I will forget or something I may have learned and share with my kids.

We do pray over each other...this morning my son was not feeling well so we got together and prayed for him...he does look way better...there is power in prayer.