MMR (Measles/Mumps/Rubella) Vaccine

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Girls' Health LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
July 2nd, 2009, 10:11 PM
ragmama's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor or expert, etc. I'm just sharing what I've found during my personal research into this particular vaccine. I strongly encourage every mom to read as much as she can before making the decision on this or any vaccinations. Okay, we ready?

Measles is highly contagious and was one of the most common childhood diseases until the late 70s. The virus is spread through the air when infected people sneeze, cough and talk. Measles aren't common in people younger than six months or in adults over age 20. Measles is very uncommon in the U.S. today (about 50-100 cases each year); however, the vast majority of cases are in people who have been immunized. (In all fairness, this could be due to the large percentage of vaccinated vs. unvaccinated.)