Question about tomatoes

Forum: Gardening

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Corrupt

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Gardening LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
July 14th, 2012, 04:19 PM
Ever's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi ladies,

I'm new to growing tomatoes so I have no clue if I'm doing something wrong. We have a very small garden with about 6 plants, all of which have tomatoes on them. The problem is they've been on there quite a while and aren't turning red. Any ideas why this is happening??

The plants also seem to have stopped growing and I don't see any new fruit coming out.

TIA!
July 14th, 2012, 05:36 PM
SouleBaby's Avatar Lovin My Boyz!
From my experience, reducing the amount you water them or cut out the water for a day or two will get them to turn red.
I'm not an expert, that's what my Grandpa taught me and it has worked for me.
Good luck!

Thank you GreysMom for my awesome siggy!!!!

July 14th, 2012, 06:17 PM
magz88's Avatar First Time Mum
Are they getting enough water? I have never had that happen. My tomatoes don't usually start ripening for a while though - late August. Maybe I plant later than you.
July 14th, 2012, 06:30 PM