Question about discipline

Forum: Children with Developmental Delays and Disorders

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Children with Developmental Delays and Disorders LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
February 6th, 2008, 01:27 AM
winnowill's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi. I don't have a child with autism but I'm a nurse to one. I'm going to try to explain this the best I can without violating any HIPPA laws or anything.
My patient is 14. He has some retardation from a stroke when he was a baby so his "mental age" is more like 5. His mom and I are having a problem with his behavior lately. He likes to aggravate us. (Hitting, pinching, kicking) We've tried our usual time out, ignoring the behavior, redirection, taking away his games, and it's not working. Holding him down (no I don't do it) seems to just get him hyped up more. Can you ladies suggest any other forms of discipline? (Not that anyone would but don't suggest spanking because I'm not allowed to do that)
One more thing. We have a feeling this increase of aggression may have to do with the fact he is going through puberty now. Does anyone know anything about that?
Thanks.

February 6th, 2008, 01:43 AM
picklesmama's Avatar <;,><