Painful bowel movement after illness - Now won't go #2 on the potty.

Forum: Potty Training

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Potty Training LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
April 18th, 2011, 05:02 PM
MomOfWar's Avatar Mom to 2 human hurricanes
Hi ladies! This is my first time posting here, and I hope someone has some ideas. My son Ronan (2yrs 9mths), who is/was fully potty trained during the day and working on night training, came down with a high fever (104-105) 11 days ago. He was sick for a few days, and then became constipated as a result. (He has never been constipated before, so this is a one-time incident due to illness and not a dietary problem.) He eventually had a painful bowel movement and since then will not go #2 on the potty. At first, he would try to get to the potty but after sitting there for awhile would get down without having gone. Then he started saying: "It not gonna get bigger?" So I know he's associating going #2 on the potty with pain now. He goes pee on the potty all the time still. But now he doesn't even bother trying to go #2 on the potty; he just goes in his undies. If I tell him we don't go in our undies, we go on the potty - he says "I'm sorry, mama." Which makes me feel so bad for him. I've tried reassuring him that it won't hurt, that it won't be big again, that it's OK to go on the potty,