New here - saying HI and question re: ultrasound

Forum: Pregnancy and Motherhood After Loss

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Pregnancy and Motherhood After Loss LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
September 22nd, 2011, 05:21 PM
Super Mommy
Hi everyone.

I am new to this particular board - just got my BFP 2 days ago and my due date is going to be June 4th.

I had two losses 10 years ago in between my pregnancies with my daughters. One was 9 weeks and one was 6.

My health care situation is totally different now and in order to get an early ultrasound, I will have to go to an imaging place (not trough a doctor, it's a place where they do different types of x-ray, mri, ultrasound, etc). It is only $75 to do the ultrasound. But here's my question - has anyone done anything similar and if so, how does it work? I mean, do they know what they are looking at, do they know how to make sure everything looks ok and do they tell you if it is or isn't? I will not have a doctor for them to send the results to because I will not be able to get set up with my doctor for another 30-45 days from now.

Also, when is the best time to do this? I would like to wait until it is possible to see the heartbeat.

Thanks for any input!!!
September 22nd, 2011, 05:30 PM
melissalaw's Avatar Platinum Supermommy