Where to start? Any tips appreciated!

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Making your own cloth diapers LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
March 22nd, 2011, 04:50 PM
BoysOfSummer's Avatar Happily Crazy :)
I am BRAND new to sewing, when I say brand new I mean I'm buying my sewing machine this week and my first goal is to try making fitteds or converting prefolds to fitteds. Any tips would be appreciated on a cheap(preferably under $100) machine and an amount of fabric/elastic/snaps or aplix to buy. I'm wanting to make some size small or large, maybe a few newborns.

What is the easiest way to go and where can I buy patterns?

Thankss!
March 22nd, 2011, 05:33 PM
*~~Shannon~~*'s Avatar Platinum Supermommy
First of all, prepare to get addicted! One thing to keep in mind is that the prep for sewing often takes as long or longer than the actual sewing. A lot of novice sewers seem to get frustrated there.

As far as a sewing machine, if you're on a budget, keep it simple. Look for a big name brand (Singer, Brother, Janome, etc). Don't expect a lot of bells and whistles. All you really need is a straight stitch and a zigzag. Read reviews, but take them with a grain of salt (people are more likely to complain than praise!).