What snap pliers do you use?

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Making your own cloth diapers LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
April 12th, 2012, 08:18 PM
teacher.123's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi, I'm Marika. I'm new to cloth diapering and have started to try and make my own. I bought the snap pliers and snaps from KAM snaps and made two diapers that stink. Either the snaps don't push down centered or if the snap works, they arn't strong enough to stay snapped on my daughter.

After doing some troubleshooting research I think it might be that my prongs are too long for what I'm doing. I got the long ones because that's what they recommended for diapers. I'm going through 1 layer cotton and add a layer of PUL for support.

Anyone have any experience with this?

April 12th, 2012, 08:26 PM
Veteran
I use KAM pliers and snaps, but the regular prong ones. It took me some trial and error (mostly error!) to realize just how hard I need to push down, and sometimes after I've applied them I still take the rubber part off to push down even more.

But yeah, I use the regular length prongs for one layer of cotton and pul. Heck, I successfully use the regular prong ones for going through 5 layers of cotton (4 from a prefold and one cotton print). So it sounds like that might be your problem.

April 12th, 2012, 10:51 PM