Any tips for babies and dogs?

Forum: May 2012 Playroom

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To May 2012 Playroom LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
December 7th, 2012, 02:29 PM
CarolynBB's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hubby and I are cat people and I have very little experience with dogs. However, my sister-in-law has a large dog who will be staying at my inlaws' house with all of us while we're there at Christmas.

The dog is an incredibly friendly labradoodle -- he's a nice dog but is also very used to being the "baby" of the family. I don't think he has any experience with babies and Kira has had almost no exposure to dogs. He's also very young; just over a year old.

Hubby and I already agree that the dog is NEVER to be left alone with Kira and cannot have access to any room she's sleeping in. That may be overkill but that's what we want until we see what the dynamic is.

Do any of you have any other suggestions on how to introduce them so that it's as stress-free as possible for both the humans and the dog? Should I put Kira on the floor and let Wrigley smell her? Or maybe have him smell some of her clothes?

Any other tips or tricks/dos and don'ts? Thanks!
December 7th, 2012, 06:30 PM
melissalaw's Avatar Platinum Supermommy