What is the average blood sugar rate?

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Gestational Diabetes LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 23rd, 2006, 10:58 AM
Mega Super Mommy
I'm new to gestational diabetes and won't meet with my DR until the end of the month. Until then, I am sticking myself 4 times a day to test my blood sugar. I just got a call from the dietitian to meet with her on Thursday (oh boy, I did not like her just from talking to her on the phone - thought she was rude).

Is there an average that I should be shooting for? What's the normal blood sugar count for someone with gestational diabetes? Does hypothyroidism affect it (research on the internet indicates that it affects it, but never mentions to what extent)?

I was so glad to see this topic .... I've been feeling kind of alone on this. The girls on my DDC are great, but most of them aren't dealing with this sort of thing.

Thanks!

I love my 3 girls and little boy:

Mom to Jessica - 19 yrs old, Amber - 18 yrs old, Sebastian - 2 months
January 23rd, 2006, 11:10 AM
bright future's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
I have to test fasting and 1hr after each meal daily (well, now I'm down to any 2 readings of my choosing)... the guidelines I was given were these:

Fasting: <5.3 mmol/L or <95 mg/dl
1 hour after each main meal: <7.6 mmol/L or <136 mg/dl