Intro and looking for food ideas?

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Gestational Diabetes LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
May 12th, 2009, 07:07 AM
photophreak's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi all. I'm a newbie to this forum, but not a newbie to forums in general. I <3 forums.

My name is Val. I am a mom of 3 (ages 11, 5, and almost 3) with my 4th (and last!) on the way in July. I'm a registered nurse. I work 2 nights a week in my local OB department. I also dabble in photography.

Wouldn't you know, I failed my 1 hour GTT. First time in 4 pregnancies. I'm so bummed. Seriously, I eat mainly carbs. I don't like meat very much at all. (I grew up in a vegetarian family. It's just not ingrained in me to like meat, or think of it as a food option.lol) The meat products I do like are the ones that are bad for you, or that have carbs- you know, chicken nuggets and things like that.

So, I've kind of been struggling with what to eat. I have a fairly good understanding of how to manage blood sugar. I haven't had a sugar out of range since I began testing. (Incidentally, I know it's probably just denial, but I think the 1 hour GTT was a fluke. I passed the 3 hour. My doctor is the GD nazi though... and my last 2 babies have been on the large side- 8#6, and then 9#)