Discrimination?

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To 2012 Playroom LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
July 7th, 2011, 06:22 AM
LilBecca's Avatar Veteran
Ok, so a couple weeks ago I had a really hard time doing my job efficiently at work (I work in retail as a sales associate). My bosses knew I was pregnant. I tell my supervisor I may need to have the ability to sit down when need be. So they say, ok but you need a doctors note. Fair enough, but then my other supervisor said they are moving me to another department, (which that part I agreed upon because mine is pretty hectic). But then she goes on to say they'll cut me to 4 hour shifts AND I saw my schedule for next week. I went from 16-19 hrs (PT only right now) to one day at 4 hours next Saturday. I'm still perfectly capable of working longer shifts, I just need to be able to sit down without getting yelled at. And another dept. helps because the stress level goes down. But cutting my hours I think is too far. I had NO issues with hours before all this happened. I'm what they call short hour, or less than part time, so within company guidelines, the number of hours are "legal" in my position. BUT like I said, I never had worked a week so short the entire time I worked there and problems only started after I told them I was pregnant. I brought it up and they did nothing about it. I know