Sensitive question...

Forum: Stillbirth

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Stillbirth LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 15th, 2008, 02:19 PM
Sweetpea0708's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Send a message via AIM to Sweetpea0708 Send a message via MSN to Sweetpea0708 Send a message via Yahoo to Sweetpea0708
Hi all, I work in a hospital, and I have sort of a sensitive question to ask....

We recently had an incident where a mother lost her child stillborn at 37 weeks (a week ago to be exact). She was very upset to find out that she would not be receiving a death certificate (or a birth one). Our policy at the hospital is that if the baby takes one breath (even if it's just one), he is considered "live born" and receives a birth and death certificate. If the baby is already an angel before leaving the womb, he does not. This has become a very controversial issue (naturally) in my department (Medical Records) because a lot of the women down here feel that it is not right to act like the baby never existed. We would like to fight and petition to have the policy amended.

My question is: Did any of you ladies experience this? I would like to know if this is just at my job, or the same at other hospitals. I also would love any opinions regarding this matter.