Can I request to be put to sleep during my c-section?

Forum: Cesarean Section Birth

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Cesarean Section Birth LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 29th, 2010, 10:10 AM
Mega Super Mommy
Hi all,
I'm new to this section. I pregnant with my first and due in July. I'm having a c-section b/c I have a tumor blocking my cervix.

Anyhow, I really don't want to be awake for my c-section. Can I request to be put to sleep while they do it? I don't see that point of being awake for it. I will only get to see the baby for a few minutes. I'm really afraid of getting the shot in the spin and feeling the "pressure". I've been through enough with this pregnancy and don't want to go through the things I mentioned above.

Thanks
January 29th, 2010, 10:40 AM
3Sapphires's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
having had general anesthesia for a c/s I wouldn't recommend it. If I had been awake, my hubby would have been able to be in the room, I would have heard his first cry.

And been able to give instructions to DH not to let his mother hold the baby before I did.

We didn't get that "first family photo".

When I was waking up I was disoriented and didn't believe the baby they were showing me was mine.

It is horrible to go to sleep pregnant and wake up not.

FF Chart**CrazyAmiCrochet**