First time TTC while BF-updated

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Trying to Conceive While Breastfeeding LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
August 26th, 2009, 05:10 AM
I'm new to this, so not really sure what to expect, but I'm definitely confused...

I had my son at the end of May (he's 3 months now). He is not nursing, but I am pumping and he has breastmilk almost exclusively. I used to pump every 3 hours, but my supply has increased so I don't do it as often. He's also been sleeping 7 hours, so I usually only pump once at night.

I'm almost positive AF has already returned though. Nearly 30 days after giving birth I bled for ~5 days, and then again another 30 days later. I didn't think the first time was a period, but exactly 30 days later I bled again, so I just assumed it was AF. Like the doctor said, I'm probably just really fertile. I really don't know if I've O'd though - I used a few OPKs this month, but not every day. If my cycle is now around 29-30 days, I should have gotten it 4 days ago. Still no signs, yet two HPTs came back BFN.

Any thoughts? Has anyone else started AF so soon after birth? Did the cycle length fluctuate? I don't want to get obsessed again with HPTs but I'm not sure how long I should wait before taking another.

JoEm

Last edited by JoEm; August 31st, 2009 at 12:49 PM.
August 26th, 2009, 06:03 AM