Phot critique

Forum: Photography

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Photography LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
June 26th, 2006, 02:03 PM
Saigon's Avatar Mega Super Mommy

I am just starting out so it is no where near what everyone else is capable of! But How can I improve?
June 26th, 2006, 02:19 PM
SugarNSpice's Avatar VBAC Mommy!!!
Send a message via MSN to SugarNSpice Send a message via Yahoo to SugarNSpice
Very cute expression!! He looks like he has plenty of attitude.

As for my crituque, I'd have to say that it's pretty underexposed. And it would be a lot better if you could open up a window and try to use natural light instead of the flash. See how he is lit up, but everything around him is dark?? That's because of the flash. And the pinpoint catchlights in his eyes b/c of the flash, also...that doesn't look so great. If you don't have enough light coming in, you could always try bumping up the ISO. Or if you must use flash a speedlite that you could bounce off the ceiling would spread the light out better or if you have to use your on-camera flash, get something to diffuse the light so that it isn't so harsh.....
Just try to steer clear of using direct flash b/c that always makes a picture look snapshot-ish and creates shadows and a bunch of other photography no-no's.

Hope that helps!!!