my inlaws - cheap and sneaky? or just smarter than me?

Forum: Inlaws

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Inlaws LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
October 26th, 2008, 09:53 AM
Veteran
Hi all, This is my first time posting to this forum. I'd like an opinion on the following, if you have a few moments.

History: My MIL was an unmarried teenage mother to my husband. When he was about four years old she married and began a family with one of her town's successful businessmen. Unfortunately he had some hard ideas about her previous 'mistake' and refused to accept her son as a member of the family. He was scapegoated and treated very cruelly.

Essentially how this relationship came about was, my MIL was employed by her husband before they got into a relationship, and got pregnant in order to force a marriage. My MIL's solution to this, not wanting to give up her newfound happiness and luck, was to give her young son, my husband, to her mother to raise and keep the security her new husband's income provided.