Buying your child's school supplies!

Forum: The Teacher's Lounge

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To The Teacher's Lounge LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
August 19th, 2006, 12:06 PM
Astrid's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Ok, as a 5th grade teacher, I am very particular about my students' school supplies although a list & the opportunity to buy a complete package of supplies is available prior to school starting. I thought I would share my perspective on school supplies since I often struggle w/ parents buying things that are not necessary. Supplies are expensive & I would not want my parents to overspend or have to go back to get something that they didn't know about.

1) Buy the basics for the 1st day. Paper, pencils, crayons, markers.
2) Most teachers have a list of materials needed for class. Wait to get that list & then buy the rest of the supplies.
3) Follow the list EXACTLY. This is my biggest pet peeve. If I request a 2" binder, it is because your child WILL NEED a 2" binder, not a 1" binder. If you have problems locating the supplies, write a note to the teacher & he/she will surely give you suggestions as where to go to get them.