Newbie Here

Forum: Breastfeeding

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Breastfeeding LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
April 25th, 2005, 11:13 AM
Super Mommy
Hello! I have a 6 day old daughter named Makena Renee

I am so sore and I don't know what to do. I keep checking her latch and it looks fine to me but my nipples are cracked and one is bleeding. I am in so much pain that I feel like crying everytime I have to feed.

I have been using lanolin and I try to keep my breasts out to get air whenever possible...they leak everywhere- day and night. It makes it really hard to let them air dry when I am soaked.

Wow- I never knew how hard this would be

Kailani Reece Arriving Soon!
April 25th, 2005, 11:38 AM
threeboyznme70's Avatar Veteran
soothies, soothies, soothies~!!!! I think Walgreens still carries them. They are a godsend to sore nipples.

Make sure that they are dry BEFORE you put the lanolin on them and even put a tiny bit on them BEFORE you nurse dd. This will reduce friction. I would suggest having her latch evaluated by an IBCLC.

I totally get the leaking! That was the reason that I was sore, because I couldn't keep them dry!

Make sure her mouth is WAY open and then basically "cram" your brest into her mouth. You might try a different hold and see if you can reduce more friction that way.