Strength Training

Forum: Mommy Weightloss and Fitness

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By pattyandthemoos
  • 1 Post By pattyandthemoos

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Mommy Weightloss and Fitness LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
May 13th, 2013, 06:25 PM
Jessimaaka's Avatar Pink in a house of Blue
I need some help with this. I have NO experience with strength training.

We have a bowflex and I want to use it. I enjoy cardio (I love the rush once I do half an hour of it), but since my plateau, I realize I need to add in strength training. Doing many reps with 3lb and 5lb weights just isn't going to cut it (Jillian Michaels videos).

So, has anyone worked with a bowflex or have any suggestions? I am going to watch some youtube videos and such for form, but other than that...I need help!

Jess
DS1: Cameron 8/12/2012
DS2: Levi 3/30/2014
May 13th, 2013, 08:43 PM
Platinum Supermommy
I don't have a whole lot of experience either, just getting started so I'm hoping for suggestions too. Right now I have just been doing a few arm exercises I found online with some 8lb (plenty heavy for me atm, I can only do 10-15 reps with them) weights.
As far as I've figured out researching thus far, it's better to do fewer reps with more weight to really build muscle, but that's all I have really nailed down so far lol.