Homeschooling in VA?

Forum: Homeschooling

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Homeschooling LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
March 30th, 2010, 11:39 AM
blessdmommy's Avatar Happy mama to 3!
Send a message via AIM to blessdmommy
Hey ladies! I'm new to the homeschooling board and had some questions....
We have a 2 yr old (he'll be 2 on Saturday) & a 3 month old. I have been looking at preschools in the area and we just can't afford it. Idealy I'd be able to homeschool all of our children through high school. DH and I both do not favor the public school system...can't afford private school.

How can I get my toddler on the right start? Learning colors, shapes, numbers ect ect? Do they have curriculum for this age? Craft kits or something? I dunno. lol

What about living in VA...do I have to do anything special to let the state know I'm schooling my children?

Mama to 3, expecting #4 in December!

March 30th, 2010, 03:00 PM
Amaranth Dhanya's Avatar aka Hillarie
Send a message via Yahoo to Amaranth Dhanya
www.hslda.org should give you all the "laws"concerning your state as far as how it works to homeschool your kiddos.

At their ages Id use flashcards and little books...but thats me. I wouldnt do a curriculum or anything strict just those types of simple things that will catch and keep their attention for a few minutes.