New Home Schooler!

Forum: Homeschooling

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Homeschooling LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
September 25th, 2012, 03:25 PM
somo_chickenlady's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi! I'm not new to JM, but I'm new to HSing. DS is in 8th grade and has been in public school up until this year. We moved to this area 18 months ago, and we were not pleased with the school district he was in, so we decided in the beginning of August to HS him. My husband is currently looking for a better job in a different state (he was self employed when we moved here), and we will put DS back in public school once we can get him into a better school, so this is just a temporary situation for us.

We are using Alpha Omega Lifepacs for history and language arts, CLE 700 for math, CK12 Biology, a free online sign language course for his foreign language, online typing course, and he chose to do a bible study.

He loves home schooling, and just this morning he said he has never liked school as much as he does now. It's also nice having him home during the day b/c we only have one car and we live in the country in the middle of nowhere where I don't know anyone, so when he was in school I got really lonely.

I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone!

Click on my blinkies!!