Intro & question re: math curriculum!

Forum: Homeschooling

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Homeschooling LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
August 22nd, 2007, 08:01 AM
ragmama's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Hi, everyone! I'm new to JM (and SO glad I found it!) My name is Kristin, I'm wife to Gene, SAHM to Rachael (3.5) and expecting our second little girl in late November.

I've lurked a bit on this board before posting and, like a few others, we're getting started with a "loose" preschool curriculum. More play than anything, of course, but Rachael just loves it and asks to "do school" constantly - so who am I to say no, right? We use (and love) the Happy Phonics curriculum, but I really wanted to get some kind of beginning math curriculum to go along with it. I think those are the two biggies we'll start with.

Any ideas for math programs for the smallest kids? I've been looking into Math-U-See and like what I've seen - and I know she'd enjoy playing all the blocks - but I tend to second guess myself and wanted to see if anyone else had input...either about Math-U-See or ideas for something entirely different.

Thanks so much - I'm looking forward to getting to know all of you homeschooling mamas!
August 22nd, 2007, 08:09 AM
Butter's Avatar Heather the Mama Duk