Questions for all mothers or expectant mothers considering amniocentesis or CVS

Forum: Pregnancy Over 35

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Pregnancy Over 35 LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
March 10th, 2011, 01:35 AM
Hello! I'm a student studying about invasive prenatal diagnostic procedures, and I would like to get some opinions/insights from mothers who are considering or have already experienced those invasive procedures (amniocentesis and/or chronic villus sampling).

I will really appreciate if you can quickly reply to the questions below (even replying to some will help).

1. Were you over 35 years old when pregnant and considering an amniocentesis or a CVS?
2. Has your doctor recommended that you do an amniocentesis or a CVS? If so, which one?
3. Is the reason why testing is being recommended known family history of genetic issues?
4. Did you accept the doctor’s recommendation to undergo testing? If so, which procedure was/will be performed?
5. Would the choice to undergo testing be easier if instead you could get the same information from a test that used a small blood sample from you and provided results within one hour?
6. Would you be willing to pay (out-of-pocket) for a rapid, blood-based diagnostic test that would pose no risk to your baby? If so, how much would you be willing to pay?
March 11th, 2011, 09:49 AM