storing/freezing breast milk

Forum: Pumping Mommies

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Pumping Mommies LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
August 25th, 2011, 07:06 PM
Field Mouse's Avatar nom nom
Hi all, I am new to the whole pumping thing and am wondering how many ounces of breast milk you store per bag (or bottle). Also, is the shelf life in a freezer attached to a fridge less than a deep chest freezer? Thanks!
August 26th, 2011, 12:58 AM
Rae-of-Sunshine's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Hi and welcome! I freeze milk in bags that are equal to the size of the bottles I am currently making them. THat way when I thaw it, I can just pour the whole bag into a bottle and I know it is already pre-measured. For me right now that means 5 oz per bag. It might be 2, or 3, or 4 for you though.

There are differences between a freezer and a deep freezer. Every website gives you slightly different rules for how long, but from this one : Breastfeeding FAQs: Safely Storing Breast Milk

it is:

◦for up to 2 weeks in a freezer compartment located inside the refrigerator
◦for 3 to 4 months in a freezer that's self-contained and connected on top of or on the side of the refrigerator and is kept at 0° Fahrenheit (-18° Celsius). But be sure to store the milk in the back of the freezer, not in the door)