Questions from the Newbie

Forum: Preemies/NICU

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Preemies/NICU LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
August 3rd, 2011, 06:10 PM
Mega Super Mommy
I am still very new to being a preemie mom and I was hoping you ladies could help me with a few questions.

What was the criteria for you loved ones to come home?

Did your l/o spend time in a level 2 nursery before they came home?

At what gestational age did he/she come home?

Were you able to successfully breastfeed? If yes, how difficult was it to start? Did your l/o go through a bottle stage or straight from a feeding tube?

Did you have issues with tachycardia? Chloe has been off the CPAP since last Wednesday, but since then her heart rate has gone up more than 20 beats per minute, and she's gone over 200 quite a few times. I'm wondering if it means she's working too hard being off the CPAP. Her respiration rate and pulse ox has been fine.

Sorry for the novel, but I am trying to get an idea of what to expect. Thanks!

August 4th, 2011, 05:53 AM
SarahBethsMommy's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
What was the criteria for you loved ones to come home? Our NICU required the baby to weigh 4lbs at least, be eating on demand and holding their weight or gaining, and to be able to hold their temperature and to have no bradys or apnea for 7 days.