Careful with "more"

Forum: Baby Signing

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By calebsmom_paulswife

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Baby Signing LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
November 1st, 2010, 07:19 PM
SpankyMagoo's Avatar Gonna make Jo a big sis
Hi,

Ive been a lurker on this board for a little while. I am a teacher in a classroom with children (ages 5-6) who are disabled, either mentally or physically (or both). Many of my kids have been using sign since they were very little and it is such an excellent form of communication.

I just wanted to mention one thing. I have found through the last several years that every child comes in knowing the sign "more". Its a very basic sign and super easy to teach. However, of all those children, I think only one or two have actually known what it really means.

If you really think about it, "more" is kind of an abstract concept. To a young child "more" usually means "I want some of that"... yet "that" is not always what you think it is. I find that kids will often sign "more" when they havent even had anything yet. We then have to use signs like eat, drink, play, toy... instead of "more" to be more specific.