Fears and Intense Feelings?

Forum: Gifted and Talented Children

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Gifted and Talented Children LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
June 14th, 2011, 08:34 AM
Super Mommy
Hi ladies, this is my first time posting here, I think. My son will be 5 next month and I know that he understands and picks things up quickly. We homeschool so I'm not too concerned about placing in school and such. He absolutely loves science and seems to be picking math up really quickly, also. I just follow his lead in each area, but I'm looking for some support and advice in another area.

He's always been sensitive to loud noises, bur recently he's shown fears about lots of little things. He over-analyzes things to the point that he becomes afraid. For example, what if the paint comes off his toys and rubs on hm and goes inside him and makes him sick? Or what if the smell from the 'poison' household cleaners go inside his mouth? Or, he'll randomly come out and say he doesn't want to grow old and die, etc.....He's started washing his hands a lot because he's afraid germs will make him sick (not overboard, but his motive is clear as to why he's doing it).