Hello, New here, and very frustrated

Forum: Learning Disabilities and Special Education

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Learning Disabilities and Special Education LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 10th, 2009, 12:25 PM
MeganMomof5's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Hello, I'm new to this topic...First I'd like to start off with a little about my daughter...she's 5 going on 6 next month...I knew something was different about her since she was a baby, she never talked, hardly made baby sounds etc....She didn't really start to say sounds till 3, maybe closer to 4, but couldn't talk...So around 4 we had her hearing tested, it was fine etc...Her doctor recommended I contact the school district (after he recommended speech therapy for her)...So to make a long story short, we went threw a lot, and at first they said she couldn't go into the special education preschool, and that all she needed was speech..Then I kind of got upset because she had other problems, she was very delayed socially, and couldn't do much for herself...She would see other kids and just scream...She's also very difficult when it comes to food (not just normally pickiness)...So they reevaluated her, and wrote her down as developmentally delayed....She went into preschool, and did very well after awhile...her speech started to improve, she was doing things f