8 month old started flappimg her arm - autism worry

Forum: Children with Special Needs

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Children with Special Needs LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
May 4th, 2010, 09:14 AM
Hi - I am a newbie to this forum, so i hope i am posting this in the correct place.

Our little girl who is now 8 months has started to flap one of her arms up and down , not violently or very fast and not just when she is excited or wanting to be picked up, its almost like she's waving, (which she may actually be trying to do)

She is consistently hitting all of the devt milestones, is a very social little girl, constantly smiling, babbling away etc, BUT My friend mentioned that this arm waving could be an early sign of autism, so its got me in a bit of a flap myself.

I've made the mistake of googling it and have seen that it can be an early symptom, but isn't 8 months too early for this ?

Would really appreciate any thoughts, especially if your LO exhibited this traits at 8 months old and has been diagnosed with Autism / AS.

Thanks in advance.
May 4th, 2010, 09:28 AM
quietsong's Avatar Just Another Slacker Mom
Send a message via MSN to quietsong