Non-Reducible/Incarcerated Umbilical Hernia?

Forum: Children with Special Needs

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Children with Special Needs LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
February 16th, 2012, 05:49 PM
I'm sure a hernia doesn't really qualify as special needs, but I thought some of you ladies might have experience with this. I'm new to hernias so forgive me if I ask dumb questions.

We just found out yesterday that our 2 year old son has a non-reducible umbilical hernia. He has an ultrasound Monday to see exactly what is going on with it but I wanted to ask you all some questions. (The doc also wanted to make 100% sure it is a hernia.)

Do these always require surgery? I know the reducible ones normally aren't surgically repaired until the child is 5ish, but if what I am understanding is correct from my interrnet research, non-reducibles do need repairing because they can damage the intestine and could possibly become strangulated hernias, correct?

What exactly will they be looking for with the ultrasound?

Any info you all can give me about your experiences with these will be wonderful. Thank you!
February 17th, 2012, 02:12 PM
Mega Super Mommy
Send a message via AIM to i3ai3ydanny
I have never had experience with these but this is one thing I found...