New Here

Forum: Blended Families

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Blended Families LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
June 2nd, 2008, 08:32 AM
Regular
I am new to the Just Mommies board, I've been lurking on the Blended Families forum. It's been great to read from other families experiencing the same challenges we are. My Boyfriend has two children early elementary age who spend about 50% of their time with each parent.

I was wondering if anyone has any guidance on the "behavior and manner's hell" we experience each time the kids return to our home. Is this complete lack of remembering the expectations, acting out, demanding normal for the transition from one home to another?

When we picked the kids up this weekend we had whining, hitting, argumentative children. By Sunday evening we had cooperative, sharing, well mannered, polite children then within 30 seconds of walking into mom's house were back to the same behaviors as when we picked them up. This change in behaviors is causing a problem between the two homes since we are willing and want to take the children different places since they listen, are responsive, respectful and cooperative with us but BF's ex is putting her foot down that the kids do not listen and do not exhibit the behavior required for the trips we want to take and therefore we can not take them.