Anyone working in healthcare that will let me pick their brain?

Forum: Working Mommies

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Working Mommies LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 3rd, 2012, 02:32 AM
Regular
Hi, this is my first time ever being pregnant, have yet to see my OBGYN to get Everything confirmed but as I have still yet to start my period and had 2 positive tests at home I figure I might as well play it safe.
I'm wondering if their are any moms or pregnant moms out there that either worked or still work in a healthcare setting specifically a hospital setting. I'm a nurse, have worked in an ICU for over 2 years and am frequently around patients with nasty bugs and patients needing go for imaging tests, or administering very toxic/ potent medications.
As I've yet to tell any coworkers of my condition I don't know anybody whom I can ask what patients and what procedures I should attempt to avoid? Obviously I can't avoid sick patients but I do know certain patients such as r/o TB due to the MED regimen for exposures, and shingles because of the possible impact on the embryo/ fetus in womb are major no-nos. I just don't know if their are any other diseases/ mess/ procedures I HAVE to stay clear of?
Thanks, i would greatly appreciate any info or advice on the matter.
January 3rd, 2012, 10:32 AM