Injectables- pre-filled pens or vials?

Forum: Trying to Conceive with Medical Assistance

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Trying to Conceive with Medical Assistance LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
December 26th, 2009, 02:36 PM
~*Jackie*~'s Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Since I'm a newbie in the world of injectables, I wanted to ask my silly questions here. I'm currently gathering prices for my meds for IVF and I am curious whether or not I should invest in the pens or use the vials?

My protocol consists of FSH (still deciding which between Gonal-F, Follistim, and Menopur) for 5 days, then adding in Cetrotide or Ganirelix for 5 (or so) more days along with FSH. I'll be doing 300IU for the first 5 days, then depending on my numbers, the dosage might change (which of course I realize has the potential of wasted FSH if the dosage goes down).

The prices are pretty similar when comparing the prefilled pens (Follistim and Gonal-F) to the 300IU and 450IU vials. Do any of you that have been through this have a preference and reasoning? I'm just looking for some experience and info.

Thanks in advance!!

Thank you brie_91 for this fabulous siggy!!
Our TTC journey: 6 cycles Clomid, lap surgery/ D&C, IUI, 2 x IVF; 33 cycles- BFN.
IVF#1 (March 2010) Transferred two 8-cell grade A (perfect) embies- BFN and heartbroken.