Love this name, but do I need to change spelling?

Forum: Baby Names

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Valerie123

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Baby Names LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
January 26th, 2014, 06:13 PM
Veteran
I was a foreign exchange student and my roomate was Cambodian. Her name was Srey (pronounced sir-RAY with the "sir" being a very soft sound).

Here's audio:
How to Pronounce Srey - PronounceNames.com - YouTube

At 17, I was sure I'd use the name if I ever had a girl. My roomate thought that was a great idea- as the name meant "girl" and apparently is quite popular (and she loved her name- its just so pretty!)

Well, my husband isn't sold on it. Our rules for naming are no more than 3 syllables, easy to spell, not on any top 100 lists, and: when someone reads it they intuitively can pronounce it.

It is the last rule he says this name is breaking. So the question is: did you get the right pronounciation? If not- any suggestions for a spelling change?

I've thought of "Serey" as "e" before "r" is traditionally pretty soft.
Sirey I think looks like Sir-ee

Ugh! Good thing is I still have 8 months to convince DH I'm right, lol. His top picks aren't bad, though: Joan or Annabel. I love both of those, too. Truth is, I love most girl names
CaylaDixon2014 likes this.

Team pink! Due on or around 10-01-14.