some questions and any advice

Forum: Adoption

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to boards@justmommies.com.

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Adoption LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
December 11th, 2007, 10:42 PM
Regular
Hi everyone,

I am new to this message board, and I am so glad I found it. There seems to be such great info and support in all these messages.

My husband and I have been trying to conceive for over 3 years now, but have decided to stop actively trying. We have been thinking that maybe our fate is to welcome a child as our own who needs our love and stability and home through adoption.

I have begun doing web searches on local agencies and what the process and fees are like. We are both in our early 30's, and are planning on buying a home next year. I am also a graduate student and work about 30-40hrs a week. If all goes as planned I will be finished with my degree (at least my classes) by March 2009, so in a little more than a year. I've read everywhere that an average wait time for domestic adoption is usually about 10 months. We are hoping to have a placement around the time that I finish my classes. I was thinking about attending a couple free info seminars/meetings in Feb.