JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Knitting, Crochet and Macrame Techniques & Patterns (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f216-knitting-crochet-and-macrame-techniques-and-patterns/)
-   -   Hi girls! (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f216-knitting-crochet-and-macrame-techniques-and-patterns/816679-hi-girls.html)

*Fiona* November 21st, 2007 02:14 PM

I'm a complete newbie to knitting and am currently trying my hand at this baby blanket: link

Granted, my blankie wont look as professional as this but I'm trying!!!

I'm stopping in for a little help please. I'm going to try this booties pattern: link - But what does "YO" mean in here:

Quote:

Cast on 33 sts loosely (use a slightly larger needle if you like to cast on and off with). Work a K1,P1 rib for 10 rows.

Eyelet row: K1, * YO, K2tog * . Repeat from *'s to end.

P next row.[/b]
Thanks in advance!!

~Caroline~ November 22nd, 2007 06:18 AM

Hi Fiona! I know you from the WTTC board :)

YO = Yarn over.
If the next stitch after YO is a knit stitch, you simply bring the yarn to the front of the work, and then you knit the next stitch.
If the stitch after the YO is a purl stitch, you wind the yarn completely around the right-hand needle from front to back, and then purl the next stitch.

If this is not clear, there should be a video explaining it on this site.

*Fiona* November 22nd, 2007 12:02 PM

Hey lol yey for being on another board together :D

Ty for this and for the link!!

Lisadear November 22nd, 2007 10:11 PM

Welcome to the board Fiona!!!

gosh! I envy those that can knit ... okay one day I will actually pick up the needles I bought over a year ago and try knitting again! lol

xxx Lisa xxx

*Fiona* November 24th, 2007 07:09 AM

Lisa, there are FANTASTIC videos on the link above that Caroline posted. Failing that, youtube has heaps also!!