JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Natural Childbirth (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f257-natural-childbirth/)
-   -   39 Week Midwife Appt. (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f257-natural-childbirth/1636904-39-week-midwife-appt.html)

BoobyDutyAgainJen July 16th, 2009 09:51 PM

39 Week Midwife Appt.

I had my 39 weeks appt today. Everything is still good as usual this pregnancy! I gained the first pounds I have gained in weeks but I ate horribly and did barely anything so it was no surprise. Blood pressure great, measuring "big" at 41 weeks, baby heartrate at 130.

The midwife wanted to check me and strip my membranes but I declined. I am not technically late yet and my family would have a hard time figuring out being at the delivery this weekend. It could be done if I went on my own but there is no reason to push the envelope lol. I decided that I feel no need to know where I stand...it is just a number that I will end up putting too much stock into.

Anyway I go back on Tuesday, my actual due date, and will get checked and stripped then if I feel that it is right at the time. I think they also routinely do a NST at that point just to make sure things are fine. I seriously have always thought I was going to go on the 23rd so we will see...:smile:

mgm78 July 17th, 2009 04:46 AM

Re: 39 Week Midwife Appt.

glad your appt went well :)

noworries July 17th, 2009 07:36 AM

Glad everything is looking so good. And good for you for saying no to being checked and stripped. Like you said, it's just a number that you'd rely too much on.

Mystic_Mommy July 17th, 2009 09:19 AM

Sounds like everything is going great!!! :)

bostoncreampie July 17th, 2009 10:22 AM

Sounds great! Do you have a favorite, or least favorite midwife at the birth center? :)

moon~maiden July 17th, 2009 10:40 AM

Seems odd she would want to strip? It doesn't seem very birth center-y. WTG in saying no. You are sooooo close!