JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Natural Childbirth (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f257-natural-childbirth/)
-   -   Baby born en-caul? ... Extra protein? (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f257-natural-childbirth/2711128-baby-born-en-caul-extra-protein.html)

Thankfulhelpmeet March 5th, 2014 10:04 AM

Baby born en-caul? ... Extra protein?

Just wondering anyone who has had baby born en-caul (or nearly) did you consume extra protein when pregnant/extra vitamin c/red raspberry leaf tea or nettle tea? I have read these things can help to have a strong sac. Does anyone else have info on this?

ThankYou

moxiemommie March 5th, 2014 03:36 PM

Re: Baby born en-caul? ... Extra protein?

Very interesting! I have no experience with this but I will have to look into it! Ive heard of babies being born en caul but I also hear its pretty uncommon or almost "rare."

Calendula March 5th, 2014 04:56 PM

This is interesting... both times my MWs put me on a very high protein diet. With my daughter, she was not born en caul, but I had an extra 'fore-sac' of amniotic fluid, so my water broke on it's own, and then the second sac I eventually let them hook literally seconds before I began pushing.My son came a lot faster, and he was born totally en caul (but not with an additional caul cap, just born completely in his intact sac). I didn't get to check it out because it was full of meconium so they broke it quickly once he was out.

eta: I also tried to get lots of vitamin c rich foods to help with iron absorption, but neither of the teas for me.

pr1madona March 9th, 2014 08:35 AM

Interesting. I've never had a baby born in the caul, but I have very strong sacs. They always have to be broken towards the end because the hold up the last couple cm of dilating. I think it would be cool to have a baby born in the caul. I eat lots of protein, have vit C foods, and also drink rasp leaf tea.

sweethome March 27th, 2014 04:26 PM