JustMommies Message Boards

JustMommies Message Boards (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/)
-   Trying to Conceive with Medical Assistance (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f74-trying-to-conceive-medical-assistance/)
-   -   An intro and some questions too (http://www.justmommies.com/forums/f74-trying-to-conceive-medical-assistance/2429909-intro-and-some-questions-too.html)

Twoboysmaybemore October 11th, 2011 10:47 AM

An intro and some questions too

I have been on JM for some time now but have spent most of my time in the TTCAL group. I had my first son with no issue, then had 6 consecutive early losses when TTC baby #2. Baby boy number 2 arrived last summer and we started trying again right away for #3. I am not 15 cycles of well timed BD and accurate charting with no luck.

So, while I am not new to message boards and the "infertility community" I am just very new to experiencing it first hand. I started 50 mg. of Clomid yesterday (CD4) and am scheduled for a trigger shot on the 18th. The RE stated that his goal is to produce 2 eggs and therefore 2 targets.

If any of you know, I would love to understand better what the actual purpose of the trigger shot is. Is it to help time the BD better or is it to ensure that only a certain number of eggs actually ovulate?

I look forward to getting to know you all better but I hope we all have a very short stay. :) Thanks!

*JenJen* October 11th, 2011 10:58 AM

Re: An intro and some questions too

Hey there! I hope your stay here is short and you get your sticky BFP soon.

The trigger shots helps the eggs to mature and ensures that they release, helping to make sure ovulation occurs and that you have the best chances possible for conception. With the trigger shot, it is a giant dose of HCG, so it will cause some side effects and HPT's will be positive for about 10 days post trigger, depending on your dose and how your body metabolizes the HCG.

Are they doing any kind of monitoring with the clomid?