Log In Sign Up

5 Years Ago Vs. Today

Forum: Canadian Mommies


Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to [email protected].

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Canadian Mommies LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
November 5th, 2008, 06:55 PM
Mama.Angie's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14,431
5 Years Ago...

Age: 20.
Location: Same city.
Children: None.
DH/SO: Same one, just not married yet.
Job: Chef.
Place to play: Local club, retro nights.
Hair: Shorter, indigo coloured.
Piercings/Tattoos: Nothing.
Bad habit: Smoking.
Friends: Pretty much the same ones as now.
Clothing: Pretty much the same style, but much skinnier, and more expendable income.
Computer time: A LOT LESS. Only really used email.
School: A local chef school in prep of college chef school.
Cellphone: Old brick, non flip, no colour, no camera/video/mp3. Fido pay as you go.
Aspirations: To get into college, find a great job in the city, and live the high life.



Age: 25.
Location: Same city.
Children: Daughter, almost 6 mo.
DH/SO: Same as 5 years before, but married now.
Job: SAHM.
Place to play: Local park!
Hair: Longer, brown with blonde highlights.
Piercings/Tattoos: Tongue piercing.
Bad habit: Too much coffee.
Friends: Gained a few new ones.
Clothing: Pretty much the same style, but much less skinnier, and no expendable income.
Computer time: TOO MUCH. Facebook, MSN, JM, Stumble Upon!
School: Finished, might take a language class to brush up on Spanish.
Cellphone: Fancy pants Bell flip phone. Its a loaner for my lesser cool phone that broke.
Aspirations: To raise my daughter in a happy, healthy home. Maybe save enough money to go on a honeymoon.

Thank you claire1979 for my cute new siggy!
Reply With Quote
November 5th, 2008, 07:54 PM
blondie-lox's Avatar Do NOT feed the Troll
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 16,621
Age: 19
Location: Kitchener (Same)
Children: Pregnant with my Daughter (I was Due Nov 15th)
DH/SO: My ex, my daughter's father
Job: Lifeguard/Swimming Instructor
Place to play: Um, I didn't play I was VERY pregnant
Hair: Blonde (I don't dye my hair ever), long
Piercings/Tattoos: My tongue pierced, 6 in my ears, my nose pierced, 4 tattoos
Bad habit: Eating like a 9 month preggo! LOL!
Friends: Same as now
Clothing: Maternity clothes!
Computer time: I didn't have a computer but used it at my parents house. Just used email and msn
School: Just graduated high school the year before and was preggo so school was on hold.
Cellphone: Telus no camera, no flip, crappy phone
Aspirations: Go to post secondary and get a job and have more kids!

Age: 24
Location: Kitchener (Same)
Children: 2 kids, Phoenix almost 5 (Nov 18th), and Lincoln 2 months
DH/SO: DH, Evan
Job: SAHM right now, but I'm a licensed Real Estate Agent
Place to play: The park with my kids LOL!
Hair: Blonde, still don't dye it, a little bit shorter
Piercings/Tattoos: No Piercings now, still have 4 tattoos
Bad habit: Staying up too late.
Friends: Same as before, just a few new ones
Clothing: Kinda mommish LOL!
Computer time: ALL THE TIME! JM, MSN, Facebook, Email, etc
School: Went to OREA College for Real Estate
Cellphone: DH and I share a cell phone with Bell, we had the double flip but he just lost it so now we use an older one
Aspirations: Go back to work when Lincoln is about 1 yr, move into a bigger place up north on a lake with some land (get out of the city), have a least 1 more child.


Huge thanks to *Kiliki* for the FANTABULOUS new siggy!!
Reply With Quote
November 5th, 2008, 11:45 PM
Terri.'s Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Williams Lake, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,219
Send a message via Yahoo to Terri.
5 Years Ago...

Age: 23
Location: Williams Lake, BC
Children: 2
DH/SO: DJ - married
Place to play: On my computer
Hair: Just past shoulders, all one length, blonde
Piercings/Tattoos: 9 piercings, no tattoos
Bad habit: Smoking.
Friends: Holly, Sherry
Clothing: Same - casual & comfy
Computer time: A little more than now
School: N/A
Cellphone: Didn't have one yet
Aspirations: Don't remember



Age: 28
Location: Williams Lake, BC
Children: 2
DH/SO: DJ - married
Place to play: On my computer
Hair: Just to shoulders, layered, brown
Piercings/Tattoos: 9 piercings, one tattoo
Bad habit: Smoking
Friends: Andrew, Amber
Clothing: Casual & comfy
Computer time: A little less
School: Currently attending
Cellphone: LG Shine Pink
Aspirations: Quit smoking before I'm 30
Reply With Quote
November 6th, 2008, 08:31 AM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 116
5 Years Ago...

Age: 21
Location: Kitchener (same)
Children: Not even on the radar.
DH/SO: Out on my own for the first time.
Job: Life insurance customer service
Place to play: Can't even remember.
Hair: Long brown, not dyed.
Piercings/Tattoos: Nothing.
Bad habit: Eating way too much junnk food.
Friends: People I worked with.
Clothing: Pretty much the same style, but more selection.
Computer time: More. I played a lot of silly online games.
School: Just finished my college correspondence course.
Cellphone: None.
Aspirations: To get a "real" job in accounting (the field I wentt o school for).


Age: 26
Location: Kitchener (same)
Children: Expecting first in May.
DH/SO: Boyfriend who is so supportive, and is looking at rings for me.
Job: Accounts payable clerk
Place to play: living room (with Wii or card games)
Hair: Short, dyed black black.
Piercings/Tattoos: Nothing.
Bad habit: Not napping right after work when I am exhausted.
Friends: My sister, sister-in-law, and a few ladies from work.
Clothing: About to be maternity wear.
Computer time: Lots during the day at work when I am not busy.
School: Half way through first course to get CGA.
Cellphone: Telus LG Chocolate spin. So pretty.
Aspirations: To have a health baby, and hopefully an easy, natural birth.
Proudly Canadian from Ontario expecting first baby.
Reply With Quote
November 6th, 2008, 11:00 AM
*ScrappyMom*'s Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,191
Send a message via AIM to *ScrappyMom* Send a message via MSN to *ScrappyMom* Send a message via Yahoo to *ScrappyMom*
5 Years Ago (Nov 2003)

Age: 21.
Location: Tisdale
Children: DS1, who was 1 & 4 months pregnant with #2.
DH/SO: Married.
Job: SAHM.
Place to play: The park, living room.
Hair: Long, usually in a ponytail, brown.
Piercings/Tattoos: Ears & belly button, no tattoos.
Bad habit: Sleeping away my pregnancy (I was really sick the 2nd time around).
Friends: Not a whole lot, we had just moved here.
Clothing: Sweats, LOL.
Computer time: A LOT LESS. Only really used email.
School: None.
Cellphone: No phone (didn't go anywhere, lol).
Aspirations: Have a healthy baby & 2 year old, survive having a 2 year old & a newborn.


Today (Nov 2008)

Age: 26.
Location: Tisdale.
Children: DS1, 6 & DS2, 4.
DH/SO: Still married.
Job: Still a SAHM.
Place to play: The rink.
Hair: Shorter, still brown, with blonde chunks..
Piercings/Tattoos: Same.
Bad habit: Not enough sleep & too much coffee.
Friends: Way more now!
Clothing: I no longer wear sweats to the grocery store, lol.
Computer time: Far too much! I love my FB & JM!
School: Still no school.
Cellphone: A pretty black one, I don't know what it is, lol.
Aspirations: To eventually go to school once DS2 is in school FT.


Custom crochet hats for you & your little ones!
Check out my FB Group!!

Reply With Quote
November 6th, 2008, 12:14 PM
Super Mommy
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 566
Send a message via MSN to beccasmom Send a message via Yahoo to beccasmom
5 Years Ago...

Age: 22
Location: new york city
Children: 18month old daughter and prego with my son
DH/SO: .ex husband (daughters dad)
Job: .SAHM
Place to play: at the park
Hair: .brown, long and boring
Piercings/Tattoos: one tatoo
Bad habit: eating way too much junk and shopping
Friends: none
Clothing: whatever i put on..jogging pants tshirt
Computer time: all the time always on the computer
School: grade 11
Cellphone: none
Aspirations: to hopefully have 5 kids



Age: 27
Location: breton alberta
Children: 5yr old daughter...and 5weeks prego
DH/SO: boyfriend
Job: health care aide/ part time babysitter
Place to play: at the park
Hair: shoulder length, permed and brown with blonde highlights
Piercings/Tattoos: one tattoo
Bad habit: talking way too much
Friends: a few really good ones
Clothing: wranglers, boots and a nice looking shirt
Computer time: only at the library for an hour
School: GED
Cellphone: an older fido
Aspirations: tobe a foster mom, get my LPN in nursing


Reply With Quote
November 9th, 2008, 09:57 AM
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 342
5 Years Ago...

Age: 23
Location: Kitchener
Children: None
DH/SO: my X.
Job: worked in Guelph
Place to play: local clubs, every weekend.
Hair: shorter and blonde
Piercings/Tattoos: tongue, belly, ears - no tats.
Bad habit: Smoking and weed
Friends: lots of them.
Clothing: whatever was in style
Computer time: always online...
School: was out of school
Cellphone: dont remember..i had one
Aspirations: get thru the weekend haha


Age: 28
Location: Guelph
Children: one on the way
DH/SO: an Awesome, great man!
Job: work in Guelph
Place to play: anywhere but a bar! dont drink anymore!
Hair: long, blonde
Piercings/Tattoos: all same, except 3 tatts now
Bad habit: Smoking. *tryin to quit*
Friends: none of those i did hang out with...
Clothing: Maturnity - whatever fits me.
Computer time: -anytime i get a chance.
School: almost done my A+ specialist tech course
Cellphone: BB Pearl
Aspirations: Waiting to see my little one's face in May, to be the best mom i can be and give her/him everything he or she needs and wants and more...
Mommy to
Brooklyn May 1st 2009
Breagha July 6th, 2010
My Entire World
Reply With Quote

Topic Tools Search this Topic
Search this Topic:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0