Log In Sign Up

Getting to Know You

Forum: 2010 Playroom


Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to [email protected].

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To 2010 Playroom LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
March 30th, 2010, 09:22 AM
Posts: n/a
I was trying to search for a post that was a "about me" post, i don't know if i'm alone on this but i thought maybe we can share a little information about ourselves so that we can get better aquanted(sp.?) i hope thats ok?

My name is Carolyn(25) and married to Chris(36) who serves in the Marine Corps. We met on a online dating website, i knew when i saw his picture he was the one. I know sounds sketchy but when i met him it was like sparks flying on the 4th of july. We had a few bumps in the road( "friends" of mine trying to get'em) but made it we've been together overall close to 3 yrs now. We survived 1 deployment & 1 pregnancy all in one. I'm a SAHM, which i think is nice but can get a little boring. It was so hard to convert from full time student&job to SAHM. I have a few offline friends only because it seems they take advantage of me. I'm a very kind hearted person who would give the shirt off my back. I guess you can say i have a huge trust issues mainly with females(i'm being honest sorry if i offend anyone). It really does seem i can make better online friends than off. The last "friend" i had offline stole my ID because she was jealous i was hanging out with another(thats where my distrust of females came in). I'm slowly working on it but most of the time i doubt. Aside from that, on my spare time i like to take photos, take walks,hot tubs,travel,listen to music, watch movies, play video games, and just have fun. I don't care for drama. Oh gosh i better stop i'm babbling and writing a book hehe.
Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 09:27 AM
mt23hc's Avatar Melissa
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Andrews Air Force Base, MD
Posts: 9,684
Send a message via AIM to mt23hc
We sound like we have a TON in common!

I'm Melissa (21) and my DH is AJ (25) and he is a jet mechanic in the US Navy. We also met on an online dating site when Hayden was 14 months old. I went from being a full-time student/working full time/single mommy to being a part time online student and SAHM. I love my life but it's a huge change. We're now expecting this little boy, and his name will be Cohen Rhys.
Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 09:43 AM
mrsdaiwa24's Avatar Amy, soon-to-be-mama of 2
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Midwest
Posts: 10,073
Hi! I'm Amy (35) and my DH is Paul (35). We're another successful online dating website couple! We're both teachers -- I teach middle school social studies, he teaches high school chemistry. We have two little terriers (a Yorkie and a Westie) who are spoiled rotten and who have NO idea how their little worlds are going to change when Baby Acorn arrives! I don't have a huge circle of friends, but rather a couple of close ones who have been with me through good times and bad times.

Oh, and I can't wait to be a mommy!!!!!
Thank you JAIDYNSMUM for my adorable new siggy!
Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 10:12 AM
KimberlyAnn327's Avatar Mega Super Mommy
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,945
I'm Kim and I'm 26. My husband is Travis and he's 28. We have been married since June 3, 2000. We met in 1992 when he moved to the same neighborhood. Him and my brother were best friends. They stopped being friends later that year. Him and I became good friend when I was in 9th grade and we got together at the end of that school year.
We have 4 kids. Brett, who will be 9 in May, Krysta who is 6.5, Asher who is 3 and Jordan who just turned 1. And our next little girl is due Sept 6.
I like to spend time online, read and watch TV with hubby. I'm also addicted to Final Fantasy, currently playing XIII. I despise cleaning and wish we could afford a live-in maid. I love to cook, though. I used to play soccer before Brett was conceived. I played for a long time and really miss it. I guess that's about it.

Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 10:24 AM
AtomicMama's Avatar CopperBoom!
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 14,754
Let's see. I'm Amy. I'm a 25 year old education student. I want to teach high school physics and/or calculus. I work "part-time" (but really more like 35-40 hours a week) at a college bar, and I love it, except for the crazy hours. After lots of losses, I'm super excited to finally be a mommy, even though I'm going to be doing it all on my own. Oh, and I have a wonderful roommate who has two cats that drive me batty, but I still like having them around. And my roommates from undergrad are my best friends in the whole world. They are like family to me. Two of them are getting married next fall, and my biggest fear is that I will miss their weddings
Amy: Wife to my Handsome Husband Mommy to my superhero, Max (3) and Luckiest Bonus Mama to Sammy (5)

Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 10:26 AM
Countrymom4's Avatar Chrystal
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 3,639
I'M Chrystal (31) my husband is Kyle(31) we have been married for 10 years, we meet throught my fatherThis has been a big joke that we were in a arranged marriage(We weren't Dad just meet him first). We live in Saskatchewan Canada on a farm. DH works on the farm and I work part time at a grain elevator. We have 2 daughters and 1 son Teagan 7 loves figure skating and keeps us running. Kyren 4 She will start school in the fall, she dances and is starting to play baseball. Cohen is 20 months and loves to be outside with the cows, So he goes with dad alot rather than going to the babysitter. I am due Sept 12 with ??? (hope for a boy) I am excited for a new baby, but also a little scared as to how everyone will fit in for time and events. I am very thankfull DH does alot with the kids and helps when ever he can ( he is taking Kyren to her dance compition). I love to walk around the farm on nice nights, Read, Play on the internet. I have a lots of neighbours we are friends with, but only have a few very close friends that know everything.

Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 10:32 AM
LifenTheFastLane's Avatar Mommy 2 Rhys~Rhylee~Jessa
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,650
I'm Stephanie and I'm 25. Dh is Mike and he is 29. He works in the oil field long hours, so I am home alone alot..booooooo, but he is a great provider for our family. I am a SAHM and go to school working on my bachelor degree to hopefully become a Juvenile probation officer. I have two boys Rhys "5" and Rhylee "2 1/2" from a previous relationship. There dad is not in the picture and I will try my hardest to keep it that way. This is Dh's first and only child, I am done with having kids after this one. He really really wants a little girl but when the tech said it looks like a boy at the sono he didnt seem upset at all. We find out for sure April 15th. We have a English mastiff named Diesel and a Ragdoll kitty named Roger. I love taking pictures and editing them, its fun! I also hope to be a "baseball" mom lol signing my boys up this fall.
Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 01:14 PM
redbirds's Avatar Blessed Again!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CO
Posts: 18,447
Great idea, Carolyn!

I'm Gwynne, 37, and DH is Sean, 42. We have one DD who is 2.5 y (almost) and we're both super excited to be expecting #2, and truthfully, even though we're "old" for parents, we don't want to stop at 2, but time will tell!

I'm a psychologist, specifically a corporate psychologist and I work with people on their communication and leadership skills in big project settings. It's fun and I love it, but with the horrific economy right now, my business has suffered greatly! Luckily, I also teach grad psyc classes and that covers everything without a prob.

DH is a teacher, moving from middle school to high school due to budget constraints in our district. He loves it, especially all the breaks!

I love sports. I love to read, too, but I have not read anything in a while. Most of my time is spent with work and trying to buck the economic constraints!

We have 2 dogs, an Aussie/jack russel mix and a boxer. we also have a cat who's as sweet as can be as long as you are an adult and are familiar to her
Gwynne, celebrating the newest of our four precious miracles

Hat's off to Vicki for my cute siggy, thank you!
Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 01:25 PM
emmiejack0810's Avatar MELANIE
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,795
I'm Melanie (36) and met DH (Thomas - 34) also at an on-line dating site... We met in 2004, got engage in 2005, got married in 2006 - He went back to school in 2007 to finish his "final" degree in Architecture. DD Emmie was born in December 2008...

So to say we have been a wee bit busy is an understatement.

DH is in the process of taking his Architecture Exams - 2 down and 5 to go... I work full time in Law Enforcement (I analyze crime statistics)...

We are super excited about # 2 and I can't decide if I am secretly wishing for a boy (to have the boy/girl set) or secretly wishing for a girl (a sister for Emmie)... But either way - we are stoked and could care less - if it is a girl - we don't have to buy a thing... just a crib (maybe)...

Life is always busy as we recently bought a house in Oct '09 - oh yeah - 6 days early so we missed out of the "Repeat Buyers" tax refund of $6500 - to say we were Pissed is an understatment...

But loving life all the same... We have a great group of close friends and we like it that way.
Melanie (me) - Thomas (DH) - Emmie (12-09-08) - Jackson (09-01-10)
Lucky & Booster - furbabies

Thank you BAM for this INCREDIBLE Siggy

Reply With Quote
March 30th, 2010, 01:27 PM
alethia's Avatar Platinum Supermommy
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 18,623
i'm alethia (27 next month) married to DH Brandon (28) for 6 years in August. We met in northern CA where i went to The San Fran Art institute for college. I'm orig from Minnesota (brrrrrrr) right before we got married DH joined the army, we got married and he was sent over seas for almost 3 years ... he did get a few visits and i got to visit him in Germany once. When he got out (because of injuries) we moved to AZ so he could be closer to his dad who he was re-connecting with. He was home 2 months and i we got a BFP lol for DS Brandon the 3rd who is 2 1/2. i was a SAHM with DS for about 2 years before i went back to work - i'm a marketing coordinator and graphic designer and i love love love my job. We tried for this baby for a year - we got preggo 2 times before this little one and weren't able to hold onto them (one loss before my DS was born) This little one will be our last - we're super happy with 2! We just bought a house yeay! DH currently is going to school for his masters in Economics and currently works IT -- yes we're a geeky family
Reply With Quote

Topic Tools Search this Topic
Search this Topic:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0